top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna

Handling Dysphoria

Updated: Sep 29, 2018

Something that many of the trans community are familiar with is dysphoria. I mentioned it in the past in my 5150 post. If you haven't seen that yet, go read it first.


The big thing about dysphoria is everyone experiences it differently. And it's also hard to explain because it is mainly emotions. Today I'm going to share with you how I handle it. I'm unable to begin my transition for a couple of years still, so this is something I pretty much have to master (dysphoria lessens after transition).


#1 Figure out what type of dysphoria it is. In my experience there's a 'misgendering' dysphoria (I'm not who I actually am inside, people can't see me, what if this is phase, what if I'm not, what if, what if, what if) that is very similar to a panic attack/anxiety but not the same (I know anxiety attacks, it is similar but there's something off about it that makes it different); and there is 'body' dysphoria (I hate _insert body part_, can't stand own reflection, only see male aspects, worry you'll never pass).


#2 Determine if you want to a.) fight it b.) suppress it c.) address it now? This choice may be driven by where you are, what you're doing, and what's on the schedule. Risk analysis is needed here. If you're home vs. at work, how many hours until you leave, is there a safe place to address it (and potentially break down)?


#3 a.) Fight it If you choose to fight it, that's up to you. It comes down to knowing yourself. What can you do to distract yourself? Can you watch youtube? Netflix? Video games?


#4 b.) Suppress it I can't really explain how to suppress it, but if you know how, then it comes down to willpower. Not being hungry or tired helps a lot in this fight. As do avoiding triggers that'll make your dysphoria bite harder.


#5 c.) Address it now In my experience, 95% of the time, a and b end up being c at some point. You just delay the inevitable for situational reasons.

For 'misgendering' dysphoria, Find a close friend who you can text or call at almost any given time, find a support group, get a therapist, and/or join a forum like Susan's Place or Reddit. Ask your questions and you shall be answered! With support! Also find examples you can look up to. For some of you, there may be only one true idol, but we could all use a role model that is in a more achievable mortal position, y'know? Personally, seeing people who took puberty suppression and went through the right puberty makes me worried I'll never pass, so I pull up examples of people who transitioned at ages older than me that look amazing too.

For 'body' dysphoria, avoid all reflections and do not take any selfies while you are in the middle of the 'episode'. Instead, focus on a body part that is distinctly feminine. We all have at least one part, for me, its my eyes and my legs. My eyes are so naturally feminine that my friend put mascara on me and most others couldn't even tell until they got close up. My legs are beautiful because I've run for a while as my exercise (just need to keep them shaved -_-). Alternatively/additionally, take a photo of you when you look most feminine to look back on. For me, thats shoulders back, towel wrapped around everything after shower as a girl would, freshly shaven all over, phone blocking my lower face (see what I did there?). Look back on this photo to affirm yourself when dysphoria pops up.


#6 Alternatively, blasting your ears deaf with music to drown out your thoughts does work, however, don't overuse this as you might like your hearing someday


#7 At the end of everything, remember that you are you. I agree in calling BS on loving yourself since you hate your body to begin with. However this body will always be yours, you are just changing the appearance, so take care of it. Even at the end of transition, it and any damage you do right now, internally or externally, will still be with you. Remember that gender isn't everything you are as a person, and remember that someone somewhere cares. In addition, someone somewhere has been through something a speck off from what you're going through. None of us are alone, and there is hope for all of us.


Hope this is useful,

~Bri

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PRE-HRT Saviour

One of the major events that many but not all transgender people look forward to is the day we get to start Hormone Replacement Therapy or HRT. [this post will be in reference to my position, but is n

So Close Yet so Far

After about a week of being the happiest that I've ever been, being able to hang out with my friends and to behave femininely and be treated as a my proper gender, I started to change the names on thi

5150 and Becoming Me

Wow, I've been gone for a bit... So I had a non-optional hospital visit. I was feeling pretty hopeless and a friend called the police after a week of me contemplating suicide and starting to actually

bottom of page