top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna

PRE-HRT Saviour

Updated: Dec 29, 2018

One of the major events that many but not all transgender people look forward to is the day we get to start Hormone Replacement Therapy or HRT. [this post will be in reference to my position, but is not applicable to all]

For HRT, the primary goal is to eliminate androgens, most often testosterone, and to replace them with estrogens, primarily estradiol. However, there are often circumstances that prevent someone from starting HRT.


For me, I'm unable to start HRT yet, but I still wanted to feminise myself somewhat and eliminate some testosterone. Several people look to phytoestrogens, which is a plant chemical which is highly similar to estrogens, even binding to the same receptor sites in humans. However, a lot of research has shown that the amount of these needed to take effect is dangerous.


I chose a different option: Mint tea. I'm still not sure how it does it, but mint tea has been shown to decrease testosterone levels in both men and women and has historically been used to do so in women to decrease facial hair (hirsutism). I read on some forums that some people used it to affect their T levels before they had access to HRT.


I found that after three months of drinking ~2 cups/day of Bigelow's Mint Medley Tea, that not only has fat been diverted to my butt and thighs, but also that my hips are slightly wider and that I have some pelvic tilt. These realisations come now that I'm home for the holidays (and gaining weight), and also from more time to look in the mirror (without school to worry about). I can't quantify it because I never started taking measurements, so starting now would be pointless. Additionally I've noticed that leg hairs are individually thinner than they used to be and that facial hair growth is slower than it used to be.


Fun fact: I also found out that with decreased testosterone levels comes decreased alcohol tolerance.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Handling Dysphoria

Something that many of the trans community are familiar with is dysphoria. I mentioned it in the past in my 5150 post. If you haven't seen that yet, go read it first. The big thing about dysphoria is

So Close Yet so Far

After about a week of being the happiest that I've ever been, being able to hang out with my friends and to behave femininely and be treated as a my proper gender, I started to change the names on thi

5150 and Becoming Me

Wow, I've been gone for a bit... So I had a non-optional hospital visit. I was feeling pretty hopeless and a friend called the police after a week of me contemplating suicide and starting to actually

bottom of page