top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna

So Close Yet so Far

After about a week of being the happiest that I've ever been, being able to hang out with my friends and to behave femininely and be treated as a my proper gender, I started to change the names on things like my social media and email accounts into my gender appropriate name. I mean seriously, coming out of the closet is one thing but actually being let out of it is another. And it felt so amazing.


Unfortunately, my parents do not understand the difference between legal sex and gender. They are afraid that if I go by gender appropriate name, they could have their insurance cancelled, could be audited and are otherwise financially at risk. We already had an agreement that I would not medically transition over the next few years until I have my Bachelor's degree. That was understandable. But apparently I am not allowed to transition in the least socially.


Even going by my gender appropriate name as a nickname, will result in getting college funds withdrawn. So, I'm taking advantage of this to save money to the point of being able to move out, start my masters, and begin my transition immediately following my graduation.


Now this was partially me complaining, but the main point in making this post is to let you know that if you are suppressing who you are to get a higher education, you are not alone in doing so. It will be hard, but think of it as taking a step which will make you more money which will make transitioning easier and allow you to do it much earlier.


Wish me luck over the next couple of years!



12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

PRE-HRT Saviour

One of the major events that many but not all transgender people look forward to is the day we get to start Hormone Replacement Therapy or HRT. [this post will be in reference to my position, but is n

Handling Dysphoria

Something that many of the trans community are familiar with is dysphoria. I mentioned it in the past in my 5150 post. If you haven't seen that yet, go read it first. The big thing about dysphoria is

5150 and Becoming Me

Wow, I've been gone for a bit... So I had a non-optional hospital visit. I was feeling pretty hopeless and a friend called the police after a week of me contemplating suicide and starting to actually

bottom of page